About Hinduism -
Hinduism origin, Hinduism history,
Hinduism beliefs & Hinduism facts

690 articles published

Article Categories

How does Pranayam facilitate activation of the Kundalini?

Prānāyām is included in Hathayoga. The eight parts of ashtāngyoga (Eight fold Yoga) advocated by Patānjali are 1. Yama (restraints), 2. Niyam (regulations), 3. Āsans (postures), 4. Pranayam (controlled breathing), 5. Pratyāhār (introversion), 6. Dhāranā (concentration), 7. Dhyān (meditation) and 8. Samādhi (superconscious state). Pranayam is the fourth part among them.

A. The word Pranayam (प्राणायाम) is derived from two words prān (प्राण) and āyam (आयाम). Ayam means to regulate or suppress. Pranayam means regulating the vital energies (pran) in the body.

B. The word Pranayam is formed from pran (प्राण) + ayam (अयाम). Ayam means to increase. Pranayam means increasing the vital energy.

C. Out of the subtle (subtle means those which cannot be perceived by the five senses, mind and intellect) frequencies in the atmosphere the proportion of the 360 Tama predominant frequencies emitted from the earth is 40%. These are gross among the subtle frequencies. The 108 Sattva predominant frequencies coming from the ajanaj or the star region (Nakshatrālok) too are 40% (refer ‘Science of Spirituality: Chapter 25 - Composition of the Universe). These are most subtle. In Pranayam the word āyam is derived from ā (to come/to absorb) and yam (continuously). 360 Tama frequencies and 108 Sattva frequencies are continuously entering the body. The main aim of Pranayam is to increase the ability to face these 360 Tama frequencies. ‘Science of Spirituality: Chapter 26 - Man’ provides information on the vital body (Prāna-dēha). Acquiring control over that vital body, that is vital energy is itself Pranayam.

     The vital energies performing various functions in the body have various names. The main among them are the Panchaprān (five main units of vital energy) and the Panchaupaprān (the five sub-units of vital energy). Actually there is only one vital energy but it is named as Panchapran and Panchaupapran based on its function. With every breath and thought the total oxygen leaves its position in the Brahmārandhra. During inspiration it descends from the Brahmarandhra and on expiration resumes its place in the Brahmarandhra. So also in the interval between two thoughts it goes to the Brahmarandhra.

D. Out of the nine serpents (navanāg) - the nine groups of pure spiritual particles, five serpents move within the body as the five internal energies (five vital energies, Panchapran). The remaining four are not present in the body of an average person and do so only with spiritual progress, that is all the principles in the universe (Brahmānda) enter the subtle body (pinda).

Click here to read more.

Copyright © 2009 Forum for Hindu Awakening All Rights Reserved.

No part of this website may be reproduced in any form.
No picture or text may be duplicated or copied without the express
written permission of the editor of the Forum for Hindu Awakening.

Did this article help you?